Getting to Camp

“Travel to camp for weekend programs will be arranged while making your reservation.
Traveling to camp for summer camp
Camp Emerald Bay Loading Instructions for Summer Participants

DEPARTURE AND ARRIVAL SCHEDULE

The following are departure and arrival times for the 2022 summer season at Camp Emerald Bay. Your camping fees include travel to and from camp on our scheduled boat. The ferry will take units directly to Emerald Bay. Directions to the terminal are provided on the next page.

Departure Date Loading Time Return Date Arrive in San Pedro
Sunday, June 12 7:00 am Saturday, June 18 10-11:30 am
Sunday, June 19 7:00 am Saturday, June 25 10-11:30 am
Sunday, June 26 7:00 am Saturday, July 2 10-11:30 am
Sunday, July 3 7:00 am Saturday, July 9 10-11:30 am
Sunday, July 10 7:00 am Saturday, July 16 10-11:30 am
Sunday, July 17* 6:00 am* Saturday, July 23 10-11:30 am
Sunday, July 24 7:00 am Saturday, July 30 10-11:30 am
Sunday, July 31 7:00 am Saturday, August 6 10-11:30 am
Sunday, August 7 7:00 am Saturday, August 13 10-11:30 am

 

Please park at The Battleship USS Iowa, Berth 87, then Walk West past the Fire Department and white tent to check in. We will ask how many Scouts and adults are in your unit and if all are present. This information must be confirmed on your Passenger Manifest. You will also need to be paid in full by the time of arrival. In each week there will be multiple boats loading and leaving on after the next, with the first boat loading at 7:00 am. The following boats will load immediately following the previous, requiring everyone to be ready to board the vessel at 7:00 am.  *Week 6 (July 17th) has a departure time of 6:00 am due to USS Iowa event throughout the weekend. Please be prepared to arrive at this earlier time with your unit.

Secure parking is available at The Battleship Iowa Museum for $20.00 per 24 hours. There is no weekly rate. Please park in front of the USS Iowa in the furthest SW corner of the parking lot. Please direct any additional questions about parking to 877-446-9261.

During your boat trip to Catalina Island, the following rules must be observed:

  • All participants must wear a mask/face covering at all times.
  • Traveling in Scout Uniform helps support staff identify campers and direct them to the boat.
  • Equipment packed neatly and compactly, with the owner’s name marked clearly on each item (we recommend you use duct tape).
  • Duffel bags are strongly recommended. Must be able to carry all gear to campsite (~ ¼ mile).
  • Other people will be handling your bag. Clear identification will make loading and unloading run smoothly.
  • No propane or liquid fuel may be carried onboard the ship.
  • Lunch is provided in camp on Sunday.

Directions to Berth 87 in San Pedro

405 to exit 37 to merge onto I-110 S toward San Pedro.

Take exit 1A to merge onto CA-47 N toward Vincent Thomas Bridge/Terminal Island/Long Beach (do not go over the bridge)

Take the South Harbor Blvd exit continue onto S. Harbor Blvd.

Proceed to the Battleship parking lot. Check-in time just west of The Battleship Iowa. It is strongly suggested you do not eat a greasy or heavy breakfast, lunch, or snack prior to departure.